tod logoLogin/Create Account

flagUK

call icon0204 505 9777

Homespain

abba Playa Gijon Hotel

images

View Gallery

image url
image url

abba Playa Gijon Hotel

locationGijon, Asturias, Spain

Share this Dealshare

About  abba Playa Gijon HotelAbout abba Playa Gijon Hotel

location

This family-friendly city hotel is located on the beachfront with spectacular views over the bay of San Lorenzo. The Palacio de Congresos and trade fair grounds are 300 metres from the business hotel and the bus and train stations in the centre of Gijón are approximately 1 km away. The Old Town is around 1.5 km from the beach hotel and Asturias Airport is roughly 40 km away.

facility

10 junior suites and 70 double rooms are located on 3 storeys and can be reached by lift. English- and French-speaking staff at the reception are happy to assist guests at the reception desk round the clock. Check-in and check-out are available 24 hours a day. Services such as a baggage storage service and a safe ensure a comfortable stay. Wireless internet access is provided in public areas. The tour desk offers assistance with booking excursions. The hotel has a range of facilities for guests with disabilities. The hotel has wheelchair-accessible facilities. A number of shops, including a supermarket, are great for shopping or just browsing. The grounds of the hotel feature a playground and a lovely garden. Additional facilities include a TV room. Guests arriving by car can park their vehicles in the garage (for a fee) or in the car park (for a fee). Further services and facilities include a babysitting service, a childcare service, medical assistance, room service (for a fee), a laundry service and a coin-operated laundry. A bicycle hire service provides all the necessary equipment for exploring the surrounding area. A business centre with projector and fax machine is available.

rooms

Air conditioning and individually adjustable heating ensure that rooms maintain comfortable temperatures. Many units include the added advantage of a terrace, from which guests can enjoy a wonderful view of the sea. All rooms are carpeted and include a king-size bed and a sofa bed. Children's beds and extra beds can be requested for younger guests. A safe, a minibar and a desk are also available. A trouser press is provided for guests' convenience. A telephone, a TV and WiFi (no extra charge) are provided as well. Bathrooms are equipped with a shower and a bathtub, as well as a hairdryer. For extra comfort in the bathrooms, guests are offered cosmetic products. Wheelchair-friendly rooms can be booked. The hotel has family rooms and non-smoking rooms.

sport

The outdoor pool complex includes a children's swimming area and is ideal for working out or just relaxing. A short break or an entire afternoon on the sun terrace, which features sun loungers and parasols, is time well spent. The hot tub in the pool area promises pure relaxation. The hotel offers an extensive outdoor sports programme, including tennis, volleyball, basketball, crazy golf, golf and archery. Water sports enthusiasts can enjoy windsurfing, sailing and diving. Sport and leisure facilities at the hotel include a gym, billiards and squash. There is a wellness area with a spa, a sauna, a steam bath and a hammam. Subject to charge: massage treatments. Leisure facilities include an entertainment programme, a kids' club and a dance club.

meals

Various dining options are available, including a café and a bar. The restaurant has air conditioning and high chairs for children. Catering options include bed and breakfast, half board and full board. A continental breakfast buffet guarantees a great start to the day. At lunch and dinner, guests can choose between à la carte and a set menu. Diet meals and vegetarian dishes can be prepared on request. The hotel also offers special catering options.

 Amenities at abba Playa Gijon Hotel Amenities at abba Playa Gijon Hotel

  • Facilities

    • -

      Air conditioning

    • -

      Lobby

    • -

      Conference Room

    • -

      Room Service

    • -

      Laundry Service

    • -

      Garage

    • -

      Playground

    • -

      Pets

    • -

      Ironing services

    • -

      Laundry

    • -

      Newspaper

    • -

      Parking

    • -

      Wifi

    • -

      EV Charging Station

  • Beauty and Spa

    • -

      Massage

    • -

      Spa

    • -

      Steam and Sauna

  • Building Information

    • -

      Garden (m²)

  • Business Center and Conferences

    • -

      Business Center

  • Common Area

    • -

      Reception

    • -

      Sun Deck

  • Distances

    • -

      Beach

  • Family and Kids

    • -

      Childcare service

  • General Services

    • -

      Doctor on call

    • -

      Luggage storage

    • -

      Multilingual Staff

    • -

      Pool/ Beach towels

    • -

      Wake-up Call / Service

  • Hotel Type

    • -

      Family-friendly Hotel

  • Hygiene

    • -

      Contactless check-in/-out

    • -

      Protective equipment for guests

    • -

      Gym/ Fitness centre

    • -

      First-aid services

  • Meals

    • -

      Breakfast Buffet

    • -

      Breakfast Served

    • -

      Continental Breakfast

    • -

      Bar

    • -

      Cafe

    • -

      Restaurant

  • Object Information

    • -

      Fax

  • Room Facilities

    • -

      Shower

    • -

      Bathtub

    • -

      Hairdryer

    • -

      Minibar

    • -

      TV

    • -

      Closet

    • -

      Room service

    • -

      Toiletries

  • Security

    • -

      Fire extinguishers

  • Sport/Entertainment

    • -

      Swimming Pool

    • -

      Sauna

    • -

      Gym

    • -

      Events

LocationLocation

Map preview

Around this property:

Beach

100 m

Park

300 m

Bus Station

1000 m

City Centre

1000 m

Train Station

1000 m

User Rating & ReviewsUser Rating & Reviews

  • Valuerating
  • Roomsrating
  • Cleanlinessrating
  • Servicerating

Excellent

168

Very Good

247

Average

93

Poor

31

Terrible

19

Recent Reviews: 558

  • User:Chris F

    Trip type: Couples

    Lovely modern hotel with great sea views

    rating28 Sept 2026

    Hotel in great position at end of 1.75km huge sandy beach very popular with surfers. Modern hotel. Good sized rooms. Friendly staff. Various restaurants nearby. Easy access to old town and harbour area. MARINA GUTIERREZ, Director General at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review Dear Chris F,We sincerely appreciate you taking a few minutes to share your excellent review and impressions after your stay at our hotel.We are delighted to know that the location, both for its proximity to the beach and its closeness to the old town and the port area, was such a positive aspect for you. We are also pleased to know that the modern facilities, the size of the rooms, and the friendliness of our team contributed to making your experience so enjoyable.Your comments are a very valuable recognition for all our staff and motivate us to continue working diligently to maintain both the quality of our facilities and our attentive and professional service.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.Sincerely,Marina GutiérrezDirector
  • User:kirstiM853

    Trip type: Family

    3*, comfortable and relaxed

    rating01 Jun 2025

    So generally the stay was good - the room was lovely; superb view, lovely cleaning staff and great amenities. The only things that let it down was unclear communication on arrival about the restaurant in the evening (we had to ask about the separately) and when we did eat in the restaurant, the service was very slow. Lovely waiters and waitresses but so slow. I will say the concierge were great in helping us get taxis to get places but it was a shame that on my birthday, I couldn’t get a glass of wine at 23:30, considering nowhere lets you eat/drink until 8/8:30pm. It’s a real shame they they don’t have an indoor pool - we had to go to another hotel for this. But overall, it was comfortable and relaxed though not sure it’s “4*” - I’d say 3* MARINA GUTIERREZ, Director General at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review Dear guest,Thank you for sharing your experience and for your rating. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the room, the stunning views, the friendliness of our housekeeping staff, and our facilities. We also appreciate your kind words about our concierge team.We’re sorry that certain aspects did not meet your expectations. Regarding our food & beverage service, we would like to clarify that our café and drinks service is available from 7:00 AM to 11:30 PM, and dinner is served from 8:00 PM to 11:00 PM. We regret that you were unable to enjoy a glass of wine outside of those hours.As for the pool, as stated in all our official communications, we do not have an indoor pool. However, we do have an outdoor pool available during the summer season, as well as our wonderful rooftop and a wellness area that is open all year round. This area includes a sauna, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, and gym, all free for guest use.Thank you again for your time and feedback, which helps us continue improving.We hope to welcome you back in the future.Best regards,Marina GutiérrezGeneral Manager
  • User:Silvercoastholidays

    Trip type: Couples

    Hotel location good ok but AC not working

    rating13 Apr 2025

    The room and bed are fine. Breakfast ok . Main issue is rooms are very hot so very hard to sleep and this was during cool time of year . Apparently the AC is turned off for all rooms. AC is included per the web site / what is happening here ? Staff helpful and friendly Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay.We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our helpful staff. Our team strives to provide excellent service to all our guests, and we're glad this was reflected in your experience.However, we sincerely apologise for the discomfort you experienced due to the room temperature. Our air conditioning system is designed to maintain optimal temperatures throughout the year, though the efficiency may be affected by windows not being entirely closed. We understand how crucial a comfortable sleeping environment is for a restful stay, and our team is always on hand to assist with any concerns during your stay. We are nevertheless happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our prime location, just 50 meters from San Lorenzo Beach. Our hotel offers stunning views of San Lorenzo Bay and is surrounded by beautiful gardens, providing a unique setting on the Asturian coast.We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Best regards,Marina Gutiérrez, General Manager
  • User:Stay02905051527

    Trip type: Family

    Worn, Dirty, & Low Caliber Staff

    rating25 Aug 2024

    Note: It displeases me to give a bad review but I question the legitimacy of anyone leaving a rating higher than 2 stars.If you think you would enjoy the pleasure of paying for the following then Hotel ABBA is the place for you!!!Revolving entry door that is broken and a safety hazard...see photos (main entry btw)Poor service at restaurant - may take your menu but not your orderWorn, dingy, and dirty carpet in halls & roomsSmall roomsMildew/mold in bathroomA/C thermostat with knob that will not indicate or adjust tempThumping club music/concert at midnight on Sunday that can be heard as you lay in bed trying to sleep...happened until 1am.Hotel manager that will not return calls/requests to discuss or remedy issuesFront desk staff that are uninterested in doing their job Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to share your review.We are truly sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and that you encountered several issues during your visit. Your feedback is invaluable as it helps us to identify areas where we can improve.We regret to learn about your dissatisfaction with the state of the carpets and the size of the rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable, and welcoming environment for all our guests. Additionally, we understand that the bathroom's condition is a significant aspect of guest comfort, and we are looking into your comments to ensure our high standards are upheld.Concerning the air conditioning system, we provide individual controls in each room to ensure our guests can adjust the temperature to their comfort. We apologize for the inconvenience if this was not the case during your stay. Regarding the noise disturbance you reported, we strive to provide a tranquil atmosphere for our guests to relax and will certainly review our procedures to better manage such situations in the future.We are deeply sorry to hear that the service received from our staff did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering a high level of service and it is disappointing that we fell short in this instance. We will follow up on your comments to ensure our usual high standards going forward.We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards,Marina Gutiérrez, General Manager
  • User:MeravM21

    Trip type: Family

    Never coming back

    rating14 Aug 2024

    The room is literally on the road. People driving in cars can see into our room.The hotel published in booking they have parking.They forgot to write that they have very few parking spaces so we had to look for parking.The receptionist was so rude, I never expirance such behaviour, she did not want to help or assist.She started raising her voice, and we felt uncomfortable MARINA GUTIERREZ, Director General at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review We are deeply sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, as it helps us continuously improve our services.We regret that the location of the room was not to your liking. We strive to provide an accurate description of our facilities and will take your comment into account to review the information provided on our platforms.Regarding the parking situation, we understand your frustration and apologize if the availability of spaces was an inconvenience during your stay. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have parking spaces guaranteed for all rooms. Parking is allocated based on availability upon arrival at the hotel, as stated on our website.As for the interaction with our staff, we sincerely apologize. This type of behavior does not reflect our service standards. We will investigate what happened and take the necessary measures to ensure this does not happen again. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we regret that you felt uncomfortable at any point.We would like the opportunity to improve your perception in a future visit. If you decide to give us another chance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly to ensure that your next stay is much more enjoyable.Kind regards, Marina GutiérrezGeneral Manager

Get the Best Deals and Travel Ideas

Straight to Your Inbox

Our Privacy Policy

facebookinstagram
Subscribe

Travelodeal Reviews