tod logoLogin/Create Account

flagUK

call icon0204 505 9777

Homespain

Gran Hotel Peniscola

images

View Gallery

image url
image url

Gran Hotel Peniscola

locationPeniscola, Costa de Azahar, Spain

Share this Dealshare

About  Gran Hotel PeniscolaAbout Gran Hotel Peniscola

location

This hotel is situated between the towns of Peñiscola and Benicarló. The historic old town of Peñiscola is 7 km from the hotel. Lying across the promenade from the splendid sandy beach, this hotel is roughly 160 km from Valencia's airport.

facility

437 non-smoking rooms are located on 6 storeys and can be reached by 5 lifts. The friendly staff at the reception desk are happy to answer any questions. Services such as a baggage storage service and a drinks machine ensure a comfortable stay. Wireless internet access (no extra charge) allows guests to surf the internet and catch up on email. The tour desk offers assistance with booking excursions. The hotel has a range of facilities for guests with disabilities. The hotel has wheelchair-accessible facilities. Children can enjoy the playground. Travellers with their own cars can use the parking spaces (for a fee) (subject to availability). Other services include a 24-hour security service, a car hire service, medical assistance, room service, an alarm call service, a hairdresser and a hotel shuttle bus. Active guests can make use of the bicycle hire service to explore the surrounding area.

rooms

Air conditioning and individually adjustable heating ensure that rooms maintain comfortable temperatures. Guests can enjoy the sea view from a balcony or terrace. Rooms include a queen-size bed. Children's beds can be requested for younger guests. There is also a minibar and a desk or, for an additional fee, a safe. A telephone, satellite television and WiFi (no extra charge) provide all the essentials for a comfortable holiday. A hairdryer is provided in the bathrooms. For extra comfort in the bathrooms, guests are offered cosmetic products. Wheelchair-friendly rooms can be booked. Family rooms are available for parents with children.

sport

While the adults swim a few laps in the outdoor pool, children can enjoy splashing about in their own swimming area. Sun loungers and parasols on the terrace invite guests to relax and unwind. A hot tub can soothe sore muscles (for a fee). The hotel offers an extensive outdoor sports programme, including cycling/mountain biking, bocce, beach volleyball and archery. With snorkelling or, for a fee, water skiing, windsurfing, jet skiing, paddle boating, canoeing, catamaraning, kayaking and diving available, fans of water sports have plenty of options to choose from. Sport and leisure facilities at the hotel include a gym, table tennis and darts. Various wellness options, such as a spa, a sauna, a steam bath, a hammam, a beauty salon, massage treatments and a solarium, are offered for a fee. The hotel offers plenty of activities and entertainment options, including a kids' club, live music and a dance club.

meals

Various dining options are available, including a non-smoking restaurant, a café and a bar. Catering options include half board and full board. A delicious and varied buffet awaits guests at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Diet meals and children's meals can be prepared on request. The hotel also offers special catering options. The hotel offers a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

 Amenities at Gran Hotel Peniscola Amenities at Gran Hotel Peniscola

  • Facilities

    • -

      Air conditioning

    • -

      Lobby

    • -

      24-hour reception

    • -

      Nightclub

    • -

      Conference Room

    • -

      Room Service

    • -

      Bicycle Hire

    • -

      Kids Club

    • -

      Pets

    • -

      Elevator/ Lift

    • -

      Parking

    • -

      Smoking rooms

    • -

      Wifi

  • Building Information

    • -

      Garden (m²)

  • Common Area

    • -

      Outdoor Furniture

  • General Services

    • -

      Luggage storage

    • -

      Multilingual Staff

  • Hotel Type

    • -

      Family-friendly Hotel

  • Hygiene

    • -

      Gym/ Fitness centre

  • Meals

    • -

      Breakfast Buffet

    • -

      Breakfast Served

    • -

      Continental Breakfast

    • -

      Restaurant

  • Outdoor Activities and Sports

    • -

      Cycling

  • Room Facilities

    • -

      Minibar

    • -

      Safe

    • -

      TV

    • -

      Room service

  • Security

    • -

      Security Guard

  • Sport/Entertainment

    • -

      Outdoor Pool(s)

    • -

      Sauna

    • -

      Gym

    • -

      Billiards/Snooker

    • -

      Water Park

LocationLocation

Map preview

Around this property:

Beach

20 m

Shopping opportunities

4000 m

Bus Station

6000 m

Train Station

7000 m

City Centre

7000 m

Tourist Centre

7000 m

Golf Course

30000 m

User Rating & ReviewsUser Rating & Reviews

  • Valuerating
  • Roomsrating
  • Cleanlinessrating
  • Servicerating

Excellent

736

Very Good

635

Average

472

Poor

227

Terrible

208

Recent Reviews: 2278

  • User:Sherpa66836697953

    Trip type: Business

    Unfortunately, our stay was extremely disappointing.

    rating30 Sept 2026

    One of the worst hotel experiences we have hadReview: Unfortunately, our stay was extremely disappointing.The food was repetitive and lacked variety. At meal times, we had to stand in long queues just to enter the restaurant. We were given cards that had to be marked each time we ate, otherwise we were not allowed in. The whole system felt rigid, outdated and unpleasant.We were also staying as part of a group for a business conference. A meeting room had been arranged in advance, but when the time came, no proper conference room was provided. Instead, we had to hold our meeting in a shared area downstairs next to the bar, with an outside door leading to the swimming pool.People were constantly walking through the room, it was noisy, and there were billiard tables and other games in the same space. This is completely unsuitable for a professional business meeting.What disappointed us most was the lack of concern from the hotel management. We complained several times during our stay, yet nothing was done to improve the situation. We received no proper explanation and no apology from the hotel manager.We did not feel valued or cared for as guests. For our group, this was one of the poorest hotel experiences we have had, both in terms of hospitality and organisation.We would not stay here again. ATT CLIENT GHP, Dueño at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review Dear Guest,We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.Regarding the meeting room, we would like to clarify that the group booked the Tropical Bar for Friday, Saturday and Sunday morning, with the space closed to other guests during the contracted period. Once this period had ended, and as it was a weekend with the hotel fully occupied, the space was opened to the rest of our guests.Both before your arrival, when the stay and the space were booked, and during your stay, you were informed of the conditions regarding the use and availability of the room. We therefore regret that you feel that nothing was done to improve the situation, when the space had been specifically reserved for the group during the agreed period.Regarding your comments about the food service and the system for access to the restaurant, we take note of your observations, although these are established procedures designed to manage the service, particularly during periods of high occupancy.As for the alleged lack of explanation or attention from the hotel management, we must point out that the situation was properly explained and that the matters raised during your stay were addressed. We therefore consider that the hotel did respond appropriately to the issues brought to our attention.We regret that your overall assessment of your stay was so negative and that you have decided not to stay with us again.Kind regards.
  • User:Frankhuman

    Trip type: Family

    An irrational and technically indefensible parking policy ruined our stay

    rating07 Sept 2026

  • User:Nick W

    Trip type: Couples

    70's Children Camp

    rating06 Sept 2026

    Be aware: this is a ** (two star) hotel. I do not understand who is allowing them to display four stars? The best way to discribe it, is imagine a hotel from the 60' or 70'. Same wibe. That being said, it is efficient: meals are strictly regulated, very crowded when food is served. Food is fine as long as you do not spend many days here. Otherwise it becomes repetitive.The hotel is located next to the beach. But very far from city center.Good impressions:Rooms are clean and cleaned daily.In general the personal working here are willing to help. What I do not understand, is why are they acknowledging the hotel shortcomings, instead of doing something to rectify things? Bad impressions, long list:Parking lot (the available one) is far. Gate barrier does not usually work (scanner non functional) and so you have to call reception every time.Pool area is very noisy and full of people. A lot of families with small children.Everything is charged: towel rent €5/day, safe in room €3/day. You have the feeling that they try and nickel and dime everything.Fridge in the room is actually not a fridge: it is a "cold holder". So... my guess is that they had a leaked freon and instead of buying a new small fridge, they stuck a label on the door. A new fridge this size is less than €100! You charge €200/room/day! Shame on you!There is no robe or slippers provided, hence not 4 stars classification.Due to the build architecture, the hallways are very noisy.As I mentioned, the hotel feels like a cheap 60-70 style geared towards families. Nothing wrong with that, except it is not a relaxing experience for couples.I find it overpriced and misleading. This is not a four stars hotel and it should not be advertised as such. ATT CLIENT GHP, Dueño at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review Ephori, we are sorry that your perception of our hotel was so negative, although we are pleased to note that you recognised that our rooms are clean and cleaned daily, and that our staff are generally willing to help.We would, however, like to clarify some of the points mentioned in your review. Regarding bathrobes and slippers, these items are not mandatory requirements for a four-star hotel under the applicable tourism regulations, so their absence does not determine the hotel’s category.Your stay also took place during the height of the summer season, one of the busiest periods of the year, when the hotel welcomes a very high number of families and children. It is therefore understandable that certain areas, particularly the swimming pool, can be very busy at this time of year. The profile and volume of guests can be considerably different outside the peak summer period.As for the additional services you mention, their prices are clearly established, while the hotel also offers a wide range of facilities and services included in the stay.We fully respect your opinion regarding the hotel’s style, atmosphere and the type of holiday experience you prefer. However, we cannot share such a categorical assessment of our category, which is determined by official requirements and not by personal preferences regarding the decoration, atmosphere or type of guest staying at the hotel.We do appreciate, nevertheless, that you positively highlighted the daily cleaning of the rooms and the willingness of our staff to assist guests.Kind regards.
  • User:JNJVandy

    Trip type: Friends getaway

    **Gran Hotel Peñíscola — A Kids' Party Hotel (Know That Before You Book)**

    rating19 Aug 2026

  • User:232albelev

    Trip type: Solo travel

    Disappointing hotel

    rating24 Jul 2026

    It is a massive hotel, full of couples with little children, who make noise all day, shouting and splashing in the pool. There is music and an MC shouting all the time until midnight. Impossible to hold a conversation even in my room. It is incredible to have to listen to this woman with sound at maximum level. Rooms are poorly equipped, there is not even a pin on the wall to hang the shower towels. The fare is ridiculously high for the poor service. Pool towels are rented at $5 !!!! Parking is too tight and unconfortable. I cannot find anything good in this hotel. Never coming again. I would not dare having breakfast with the level of noise of the crowd who come here. ATT CLIENT GHP, Dueño at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review 232albelev, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We are sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.Our hotel is a beachfront holiday resort, especially oriented towards families. During the high season, particularly in the summer months, it is normal to enjoy a lively atmosphere with numerous activities for both adults and children around the pool and in the common areas. We understand that this environment may not have matched the type of holiday you were looking for, and we regret that.We also take note of your comments regarding the room facilities and the parking. As for the pool towels, they are available through a rental service, and the corresponding conditions are explained to our guests during their stay.We appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions with us and regret that we were unable to provide the experience you were expecting.Kind regards.

Get the Best Deals and Travel Ideas

Straight to Your Inbox

Our Privacy Policy

facebookinstagram
Subscribe

Travelodeal Reviews